South Texas LMSC Volunteers

The South Texas Local Masters Swimming Committee is run by a group of dedicated swimmers who love giving back to their swimming community. 

Interested in volunteering with us? 

Contact the LMSC Chair at stchair@usms.org

Jesse Coon Volunteer Spirit Award

In 2006, the South Central Zone created a Volunteer Spirit Award in honor of one of the great ambassadors of Masters Swimming in the world, in the US, in Texas, and importantly in Aggieland! His name was Jesse Coon, and he was the pride of Bryan/College Station.

Jesse was a great swimmer and a pioneer setting national and world records as the first person in the 90 year old age group swimming the 200 Free, 200 Butterfly and 400 IM. Some of these are South Central Zone records that stand, even today.

But more importantly, he loved our sport, and he loved encouraging others with his swimming and kind words. He worked tirelessly to promote Masters Swimming to help it grow.

Jesse Coon Volunteer Spirit Award Winners

  • Judy B. Wagner – 2006
  • Rene Prototapas – 2007
  • Graham and Janis Johnson – 2008
  • David Young – 2009
  • Sandy Cattarin – 2010
  • Bud Jackson – 2011
  • Bruce Rollins – 2012
  • Dirk Marshall – 2014
  • Carolyn and Tom Boak – 2015

Adult Learn To Swim

Learn to Swim


Register to Swim

Places to Swim

South Texas Pools